Friedrich Ulfers Prize

The Friedrich Ulfers Prize was established in 2013 and is awarded annually by Deutsches Haus at New York University to a leading publisher, writer, critic, translator, or scholar who has championed the advancement of German-language literature in the United States. The third recipient of the prize will be recognized during the opening ceremony of this year’s Festival Neue Literatur on February 19, 2014, at the Austrian Cultural Forum New York. Harold Augenbraum, Executive Director of the National Book Foundation, will give the laudatio at the reception. A jury composed of representatives of FNL’s participating institutions and organizations selects the winner each year. The prize winner will receive $5,000, donated by Professor Ulfers, a renowned NYU scholar and former director of Deutsches Haus at NYU. The Friedrich Ulfers Prize is Festival Neue Literatur’s testimony to the rising importance of German-language literature in America. Former recipients of the prize include Sara Bershtel of Metropolitan Books and Carol Brown Janeway of Alfred A. Knopf. FriedrichUlfersPrize color

Friedrich Ulfers

Ulfers pic_small 90
Friedrich Ulfers is Associate Professor of German at New York University, in the past also serving as Assistant Dean of the College of Arts and Science, the German Department’s Director of Undergraduate Studies, Director of the NYU in Berlin Summer and Director of Deutsches Haus at NYU. Winner of NYU’s Distinguished Teaching Medal and Great Teacher Award, and twice winner of the College of Arts and Science’s Golden Dozen Award for Excellence in Teaching, he has taught not only in the German Department but also in NYU’s interdisciplinary programs,offering courses that engage a range of interests, including literary theory, continental philosophy, and the relationships between science, literature, and philosophy. Friedrich Ulfers also serves as a professor of philosophy at the European Graduate School in Saas-Fee, Switzerland, where he teaches an intensive Summer Seminar on Nietzsche and 20th-Century Thought. He is Senator of, and serves as Secretary of the American Council for, the school.



• 2014: Sara Bershtel [press release]
• 2013: Carol Brown Janeway